The Skip Barber National 2006 Schedule

< Back 01/27/2006

Friday, January 27, 2006 LAKEVILLE, Conn. – The Skip Barber National Presented by RACER confirmed the two tentative dates for its already released 2006 schedule. The 14-race open-wheel championship will open at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca March 11-12, supporting the A1GP headliner, and the race-date for the summer Road America event has been finalized for July 1-2.

The double-race format of the National means there are seven race weekends comprising the 2006 championship:

2006 Schedule, Skip Barber National Presented by RACER
March 11-12, Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca with A1GP
April 22-23, VIR with Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series
May 19-20, Lime Rock Park
July 1-2, Road America
August 5-6, Trois-Riviиres with Grand-Am Cup
September 2-3, Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course
September 23-24, Road America with Champ Car

In addition to the $100,000 title bonus for each year’s National champion, the series expects to announce soon a significant year-end cash prize fund for the top points scorers. ‘‘We’re really firm in our desire to keep the National the tremendous value it’s always been – a full season will cost a competitor well under $40,000,’’ Snyder said. ‘‘With a cash season-end prize fund, a driver’s net expenditure can be even less than that.’’

The 2006 schedule reflects a doubling of the number of race weekends where the Skip Barber National will support large, successful spectator events – four, compared to two in ’04 and ’05. ‘‘Two big shows with Grand-Am, the inaugural A1GP event, the return of Champ Car to Road America – these are all tremendous venues for our young racers to show what they’ve got, in front of both savvy race fans and professional team owners and managers,’’ said Todd Snyder, race series director.

Now in its eighth year, the Skip Barber National Presented by RACER is the leading professional steppingstone series for drivers making the move into open-wheel race cars – as well as the next step for top drivers coming out of the Skip Barber Regional Race Series. SCCA regional and national open-wheel drivers with pro aspirations are also drawn to the Skip Barber National.

Gerardo Bonilla is the 2005 champion (he joins the Anderson Walko Star Mazda pro series team for 2006), following ‘04 Skip Barber National champion Marco Andretti (a full 2006 IRL season after his 2005 success in the Menards Infiniti Pro Series). Scott Speed, who’ll drive for the Red Bull-owned Squadro Toro Rosso F1 team in 2006, is also a graduate of the Skip Barber National.

Gerardo Bonilla clinched the 2005 title at the finale at Mid-Ohio. The ’06 National schedule has the series at M-O in early September for the penultimate rounds.

Rick Roso

Testimonials Subscribe Contact