Skip Barber Racing School Alumni In Action at Rolex 24 At Daytona

< Back 02/05/2013

Skip Barber Racing School Alumni Dominate at Rolex 24 At Daytona

Each winning team had at least 1 Skip Barber Racing School trained driver

BRASELTON, Ga. (February 5, 2013) – Skip Barber Racing School congratulates 14 Skip Barber trained drivers and their instructors who continued a 38 year championship tradition. At the Rolex 24, the opening round of the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series at Florida’s Daytona International Speedway, each first place team and nearly every podium team featured a Skip Barber Racing School graduate, alumni or instructor. 

The event brought out the best of the best from around the world, including Formula One, NASCAR and INDYCAR drivers. More than 60 Skip Barber Racing School alumni raced at the event. 

A special congratulations to the 3 Skyactiv Mazda 6 Diesels that became the first diesel-fueled cars to race in the 24 Hours of Daytona. We would especially like to recognize the Visit Florida Racing/Speedsource/Yellow Dragon Motorsports team (below) which included Skip Barber Racing School instructors and trained drivers.

  • Miller, Joel – (Hesperia, Calif.)
  • Nunez, Tristan – (Boca Raton, Fla.)
  • Vautier, Tristan – (France)   
  • Spencer Pigot – (Orlando, Fla.– testing)
  • Yojuro terada

The following Skip Barber Racing School alumni finished in the top-3 of the 51st Rolex 24 at Daytona:

Skip Barber Racing School instructors and trained drivers in Bold.


01 Chip Ganassi / Felix Sabates

  • Dixon, Scott – (Indianapolis, Ind.)
  • Kimball, Charlie
  • Montoya, Juan Pablo – (Miami, Fla.)
  • Pruett, Scott – (Auburn, Calif.)
  • Rojas, Memo – (Mexico City, Mexico)

10 VelocityWW

  • Angelelli, Max – (Monte Carlo, Monaco)
  • Hunter-Reay, Ryan – (Boca Raton, Fla.)
  • Taylor, Jordan – (Apopka, Fla.)

60 Michael Shank Racing

  • Allmendinger, AJ – (Huntersville, N.C.)
  • Ambrose, Marcos – (Australia)
  • Negri Jr, Oswaldo – (Miami, Fla.)
  • Pew, John – (North Palm Beach, Fla.)
  • Wilson, Justin – (Longmont, Colo.)


24 Audi Sport customer racing/AJR Albuquerque, Filipe – ()

  • Jarvis, Oliver – ()
  • Mortara, Edoardo – ()
  • von Moltke, Dion – (Coral Gables,Fla.)

52 Audi Sport Customer Racing/APRMotorsport LTD.UK

  • Baas, Ian – (Noblesville, Ind.)
  • Basseng, Marc – (Leutenbach, Germany)
  • Rast, Rene – (Germany)
  • Stippler, Frank – (Bad Münstereifel,Germany)

69 AIM Autosport Team FXDD with Ferrari

  • Assentato, Emil – (Locust Valley, N.Y.)
  • Cosmo, Guy – (West Palm Beach, Fla.)
  • Lazzaro, Anthony – (Canton, Ga.)
  • Longhi, Nick – (Nyack, N.Y.)
  • Wilkins, Mark – (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) 


16 Napleton Racing

  • Canache, Nelson – (Atlanta, Ga.)
  • Donohue, David – (Malvern, Pa.)
  • Lewis, Shane – (Jupiter, Fla.)
  • Norman, Jim – (Tampa, FL)

22 Bullet Racing

  • Clay, James – (Blacksburg, Va.)
  • O’Young, Darryl – (Vancouver, B.C., Canada)
  • Rogers, Daniel – (Anchorage, Alaska)
  • Thomas, Seth – (Cumming, Ga.)
  • Thomson, Karl – (Toronto, Ontario,Canada)

38 BGB Motorsports

  • Davis, Lee – (Fisher Island, Fla.)
  • Eversley, Ryan – (Winder, Ga.)
  • Foss, Eric – (Dallas, Texas)
  • Mosing, Jeff – (Austin, Texas)
  • Tecce, John – (Ormond Beach, Fla.)

We are very proud of our talented and accomplished alumni! Congratualtions to all of the 51st Rolex 24 at Daytona winners.

About Skip Barber Racing School

For 38 years Skip Barber Racing School, the leader in high performance driving and racing education, has operated a fully integrated system of racing schools, driving schools, racing championships, corporate events and OEM events across North America. Skip Barber Racing School provides entry-level, equal car championships. The athletes are given media exposure, expert coaching, on-track arrive and drive experience, financial awards and motorsport scholarships. The reason many people choose to race with Skip Barber Racing is because they know it is the place where the stars of tomorrow begin their careers. The Skip Barber Racing School launched the auto racing careers of Ryan Hunter-Reay, Marco Andretti, Scott Speed, A.J. Allmendinger, Raphael Matos, Spencer Pigot, Josef Newgarden and many more. 

Drive. Race. Win.

Share the Passion.
x  s  x  x


Testimonials Subscribe Contact