Skip Barber National Championship at Road America with ALMS – Lyons Gains Momentum into Round 12

< Back 08/22/2010

Sunday, August 22, 2010
Elkhart Lake, WI. (August 22). After finishing in third in yesterday’s race, championship points runner up Isaac Lyons went into today’s qualifying session focused and determined. The Ireland native captured the California Scents Pole Position Award and also picked up a championship point. Round 11 race winner Dennis Trebing will be starting in second and MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development driver Felix Serralles will be starting in third.

Brandon Newey had a strong qualifying session and will be starting in fourth, followed by points leader and MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development driver Spencer Pigot and rounding out the top five is Ashley Freiberg. As in yesterday’s race, the draft will play a huge role in this afternoon’s race.

Results are unofficial and subject to change pending routine video review.

Sunday, August 22, UNOFFICIAL starting grid for Sunday Race 2 (round 12 of 14) BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda, Road America 4-mile, 14-turn road course

1. Isaac Lyons (2:32.747)
2. Dennis Trebing (2:32.813)
3. Felix Serralles (2:32.930)
4. Brandon Newey (2:33.520)
5. Spencer Pigot (2:33.538)
6. Ashley Freiberg (2:33.570)
7. Luigi Biangardi (2:33.611)
8. Nick Andries (2:33.869)
9. John Mayes (2:35.938)
10. Quentin Wahl (2:34.489)
11. Pat Daly (2:34.583)
12. Brian Skinner (2:35.074)
13. Peter Ludwig (2:35.383)
14. PJ Rashidi (2:35.455)
15. Chris Wilcox (2:35.754)
16. Scott Anderson (2:36.185)
17. Matthew Thill (2:38.593)
18. Bill Skinner (2:39.124)
19. Jim Norman (2:40.338)

Next Up
Round 12 of 14 of the BF Goodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda takes the green flag this afternoon, August 22nd at 12:00pm Central/ 1:00pm Eastern. Follow the race almost live on and look for the race weekend wrap-up with official race results Monday, August 23rd on

Since 2006, Skip Barber National Champions have continued their racing careers through the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development Ladder. 2009 Skip Barber National Champion Connor De Phillippi will race for JDC Motorsports in this year’s Star Mazda Championship courtesy MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development. Other drivers with Skip Barber Racing School ties include 2007 Atlantic champion and IZOD Indycar driver Raphael Matos and 2009 Atlantic champion and Rolex Sports Car Series driver John Edwards.

A limited number of seats are available for both single Race Weekends and the full championship. For more information on qualifications and pricing, please contact Chris Kretzmer at Skip Barber Racing School at (860) 435-4138 or [email protected]

Kelly Brouillet

Testimonials Subscribe Contact