Skip Barber National Championship at Road America– Serralles Grabs Second National Win

< Back 08/22/2010

Sunday, August 22, 2010
Elkhart Lake, WI. (August 22). It was another fun-filled, action-packed BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National presented by Mazda race event at Road America. The nineteen car field once again showed they could have combat on track and keep the contact down to a minimum. Isaac Lyons started on pole with Dennis Trebing and Felix Serralles in tow. When the checker waved, Serralles took home the win, just 0.023 seconds behind was Isaac Lyons, and points leader Spencer Pigot finished the podium. Luigi Biangardi and Ashley Freiberg rounded out the top five.

Two drivers to note were Brandon Newey who raced strong in the front pack and even had the lead at one point, and Luigi Biangardi who also lead laps in his first National event.

Results are unofficial pending routine video review by series officials. Final results and full weekend wrap-up will be posted by end of day Monday, August 23rd at For immediate news, results and photos, follow the series on Twitter @SkipBarberNatl.

UNOFFICIAL Results Sunday, August 22nd, Race 2 (round 12 of 14) BFGoodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda, 4-mile, 14-turn road course (Starting position in parenthesis)

1. Felix Serralles (3)
2. Isaac Lyons (1)
3. Spencer Pigot (5)
4. Luigi Biangardi (7)
5. Ashley Freiberg (6)
6. Nick Andries (8)
7. Dennis Trebing (2)
8. Quentin Wahl (10)
9. John Mayes (9)
10. PJ Rashid (14)
11. Chris Wilcox (15)
12. Brian Skinner (12)
13. Jim Norman (19)
14. Pat Daly (11)
15. Matthew Thill (17)
16. Scott Anderson (16)
17. Bill Skinner (18)
18. Brandon Newey (4)
19. Peter Ludwig (13)

Next Up
Rounds 13 and 14 of 14 of the BF Goodrich/Skip Barber National Presented by Mazda will be at Road Atlanta with Petit Le Mans September 28th-October 1st.

Since 2006, Skip Barber National Champions have continued their racing careers through the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development Ladder. 2009 Skip Barber National Champion Connor De Phillippi will race for JDC Motorsports in this year’s Star Mazda Championship courtesy MAZDASPEED Motorsports Development. Other drivers with Skip Barber Racing School ties include 2007 Atlantic champion and IZOD Indycar driver Raphael Matos and 2009 Atlantic champion and Rolex Sports Car Series driver John Edwards.

A limited number of seats are available for both single Race Weekends and the full championship. For more information on qualifications and pricing, please contact Chris Kretzmer at Skip Barber Racing School at (860) 435-4138 or [email protected]

Kelly Brouillet

Testimonials Subscribe Contact